My Top 10 Lists

I’ve been meaning to get back to my friend Myron about my favorite songs from certain Brit Pop bands so I decided to turn the response into a blog post along with some other Top 10s. I did these as quickly as possible and immediately I realized I forgot some Must Haves. I didn’t change the initial list though. The 10 are not in order…

MY FAVORITE MOVIES

Donny Darko, Casablanca, Cinema Paradiso, Goodfellas, Midnight Cowboy, My Own Private Idaho, Trainspotting, Dazed & Confused, The Shining, The Basketball Diaries (forgot Heathers, A Clockwork Orange, and Eternal Sunshine…)

Unknown-7 MY FAVORITE TV SHOWS

Twin Peaks, Carnivale, Arrested Development, Dexter, Breaking Bad, 7-Up Series, The Simpsons, Amazing Race, Lost, The Inbetweeners (forgot Cheers, X Files and Family Guy)

images-1MY FAVORITE DEBUT ALBUMS

Smiths, Stone Roses, Adorable, Beastie Boys, Strokes, Surfer Blood, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Spiritualized, Supergrass, Pavement (forgot Oasis)

Unknown-5MY FAVORITE COVERS

Tricky (Black Steel), White Stripes (Jolene), The Vines (Ms. Jackson), Sonic Youth (Superstar), Red Hot Chili Peppers (Higher Ground), Adam Green (What a Waster), Smashing Pumpkins (Never Let me Down Again), Ian Brown (Billie Jean), Lou Reed (This Magic Moment), Oasis (I am the Walrus)

Unknown-8MY FAVORITE DIRECTORS

Kubrick, Lynch, Tarantino, Van Sant, Hitchcock, Coppola, Scorsese, Welles, Fellini, Burton

Unknown-4MY FAVORITE BLUR SONGS

Music is my Radar, Trimm Trabb, Tender, Beetlebum, Coffee & TV, Oily Water, Blue Jeans, Girls & Boys, Bang, To the End

Unknown-2MY FAVORITE SUEDE SONGS

Killing of a Flash Boy, My Insatiable One, Metal Mickey, Animal Nitrate, Introducing the Band, Can’t Get Enough, By the Sea, Together, The Living Dead, My Dark Star

imagesMY FAVORITE SMITHS/MORRISSEY SONGS (12 since there’s two catalogues)

Sister I’m a Poet, Late Night Maudlin Street, Suedehead, Everyday is like Sunday,  Big Mouth Strikes Again, There is a Light that Never Goes Out, Reel around the Fountain, Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now, Last Night I Dreamt that Somebody Loved Me, The More you Ignore Me the Closer I Get, The Teachers are Afraid of the Pupils, We Hate it When our Friends Become Successful

Unknown-9MY FAVORITE PULP SONGS

Babies, Joyriders, Mile End, Love Love, Sorted for Es and Wizz, Like a Friend, Razzmatazz, Common People, Underwear, Something Changed or Love is Blind

Unknown-1

MY FAVORITE OASIS SONGS

Dyer Wanna be a Spaceman, The Importance of Being Idle, Supersonic, Cigarettes and Alcohol, Talk Tonight, Acquiesce, Some Might Say, Morning Glory, Whatever, Slide Away

Unknown-3MY FAVORITE MANCHESTER AREA BANDS

The Smiths, Joy Division, James, Happy Mondays, Charlatans, Oasis, Verve, Stone Roses, Chemical Brothers, The Doves

Unknown-6MY FAVORITE TEXAS BANDS

Black Angels, Tripping Daisy/Polyphonic Spree, Willie Nelson, Spoon, Butthole Surfers, 13th Floor Elevators, Neon Indian, And you will know us by the trail of dead, Reverend Horton Heat, Daniel Johnston

Unknown

 

3 responses to “My Top 10 Lists

  1. No Last of the Famous Intern’tl Playboy?! I would think it should hold a special place in your heart.. What, working for…A..just kidding!!!!

  2. Thanks for the effort, Brian. I’ve made my own lists for the 3 categories from above for which I feel the most qualified. And I’d like to share…

    BLUR: Into Another, Oily Water, Girls & Boys, End Of A Century, Beetlebum, All Your Life, Tender, Coffee & TV, 1992, Trimm Trabb
    favorite album: Modern Life Is Rubbish

    SUEDE: Metal Mickey, Animal Nitrate, Stay Together, Killing Of A Flashboy, Daddy’s Speeding, The Asphalt World, Together, By The Sea, Beautiful Ones, Snowblind or Hit Me
    favorite album: Dog Man Star

    MORRISSEY/SMITHS:
    Suffer Little Children, Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want, Barbarism Begins At Home, Death Of A Disco Dancer, Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me, Disappointed, Pregnant For The Last Time, Jack The Ripper, Why Don’t You Find Out For Yourself, Speedway, Southpaw, I’m OK By Myself
    favorite albums: Meat Is Murder & You Are The Quarry

Leave a Reply

