Straight Guy Lesson #3- Other Straight Flight Attendants

The dynamics of your relationships with other straight male flight attendants are very complicated as well.  It’s a fascinating case study.  We are a small fraternity of brothers and it seems every year you’re losing members to the other side, sometimes members you’d never think that would fall to the dark side.  Sometimes our most successful members put in a trade request.  Ultimately, everyone gets their trade request, no matter how much their parents, best friends, or ex-lovers object.  For the most part all the straight guys get along really well.  It’s welcoming to have another dude around you can talk to about straight guy stuff for a couple of days.

If you’re at a base long enough you’re going to hear about every other straight guy at the base and people will be shocked that you don’t all know each other.  “What?!  Of course you know Kevin!  He’s straight too, slept with half the base.  Really funny guy.  Yeah, you have to know him.”  Of course that’s as silly as asking a black guy if he knows this other guy Ty that also lives in Atlanta.  “Oh I’m sure you know him, he’s black too.”

Some flight attendant bases are massive and you can go years without meeting everyone.  After 12 years I still meet people for the first time when I get on a plane to work a trip.  You sure hear about the other straight guys though, especially if they’re single and active.  It’s always funny at that moment when you finally meet another Straight for the first time.  You know so much about him.  You’ve been hearing about him for years and you know about all the other flight attendants he’s slept with and you probably have a couple in common.  That’s usually a good bonding point and will be discussed later in the bar over some whiskey drinks and Sportscenter.  Of course whoever got there first will have bragging rights for all time.  A word of advice though, when you start laughing about a girl you had a fun layover with and you know that he had also been with her, make sure she was just a fling and not a serious girlfriend.  Nothing is more awkward than making comments about a girl and then finding out that your new straight friend used to be engaged to her but she broke it off at the last minute.  Trust me.

I love meeting the other straight ones.  It’s like meeting a long-lost sibling or a unicorn.  There may be a little competition on the plane or at the bar to win a girl’s favor but after you’ve been flying for a few years you really don’t care if you win or not.  It’s just fun being a guy with other guys and talking about guy stuff.

There’s another faction out there though, but thank god they’re becoming extinct.  I haven’t seen them in years but they’re out there for sure.  They are the straight homophobes that wear the Superman pin on their uniform.  I noticed this once when I was brand new and asked the guy if he was a Superman fan.  He looked at me with an intense seriousness and dragged me into the galley so he could tell me about his secret organization, much like the Masons or Stone Cutters.  He said that the S Superman pin meant something much more important than liking some silly comic book character.  The S meant that he was a Straight and that was how he let the world know that he wasn’t just another “faggot flight attendant.”  I was shocked.  I figured most people could tell by talking to a person for a few minutes if they were a Straight or a Gay but I guess he needs a shiny blue and red pin to help them out.  He said us Straights need to stick together and that he’d put a Superman pin in my mailbox at the airport so I could join the club (cult).  I think he was planning a revolution or something because this was all done very hush-hush with constant checks around us to make sure no one was listening in.  I guess we can’t let the Gays catch wind of this!

I’m not sure how he thought everyone would instinctively know that the S pin meant that he was straight though.  I didn’t get that part.  I was apparently being groomed for fast entry into the club and I didn’t even know what it meant.  What chance would anyone else have?  Lots of flight attendants wear pins on their jackets or aprons during the service and no one bats an eye.  So watch out for those guys.  They are the Scientologists of the airline industry and completely whacked out.  I think most of them have quit the job once they realized they just weren’t going to eliminate the Gays from the flight attendant profession.  There are still a few stragglers though, I hear stories from the underground.  They usually hang out with the pilots on layovers.

14 responses to “Straight Guy Lesson #3- Other Straight Flight Attendants

  1. How many of you are there!? LOL. Guilty until proven innocent I say….

  2. Wow! I totally learned something new today…. the S pins. wow

    • yeah……wow……even 10 years later I’m still shaking my head over that one. Not sure what happened to that guy. I’m guessing he either quit or came out of the closet

      • Yes, that’s right, because everyone with a different point of view than you either homophobic or closeted. Often (and they will rarely every realize it) the most narrow minded folks think they are the most open-minded. In reality, they often go with what is popular and easy to do and they make the mistake of substituting that for having an open mind.

      • Not really sure what the reader was getting at there. I figured they were being ironic/sarcastic but I couldn’t really make sense of it. Superman?!?!?! Is that you!?!?

  3. the dark side??

  4. Pingback: Blogs by Male Flight Attendants — Flights From Hell

  5. This is awesome. I am a straight 27 year old male and just accepted an offer to be a flight attendant. So excited for so many reasons!

    • That’s awesome. Congratulations. You’re going to love it! In fact the book I wrote had guys like you specifically in mind so you’ll have to check it out! But you’re going to have a ball, and it’ll be very hard for you to walk away from it.

      • Great and thank you! Just ordered the book, can’t wait to read it. I’m pretty happy about googling “straight flight attendant” and this coming up…beyond insightful. Thanks again.

      • I hope it gives you a little sneak peak into the job, but doesn’t ruin any of the fantastic surprises that lie in wait. You’re going to have a great time. Take full advantage!

Leave a Reply

